About York International

York International advances York’s internationalization by offering quality services and programs for international students, creating global learning opportunities (student exchanges, summer courses, internships, placements and research opportunities) for degree seeking students and facilitating global partnerships for York. York International contributes to enhancing the academic and research experience of students and faculty, supporting student success and enhancing York’s global engagement.

York International provides York University's community of nearly 6,000 international students (academic years: 2015-16, 2014-15, 2013-14) services and programs designed to ease their transition to life in Canada and at York, to help them succeed academically, and prepare them for graduation and beyond. York International provides assistance with employment and immigration matters related to international student status. Additionally, York International offers programs to connect international students with domestic students through their Peer Program.

York International also provides many opportunities for domestic and international students to enhance their global knowledge and skills both at home and abroad during their program of study. Students can study on exchange at more than 250 universities across the globe, participate in a global internship, summer abroad course, practicum placement, or fieldwork opportunity. A Letter of Recognition of International Experience is provided to document students’ achievements abroad.

Team York International

Vinitha Gengatharan
Executive Director
(416) 736-2100 x 22566
vinithag@yorku.ca

 

International Student and Scholar Services

Woo Kim
Associate Director, International Student and Scholar Services
(416) 736-2100 x 33639
wookim@yorku.ca
Amy Ahn
International Student Advisor and Immigration Specialist
(416) 736-2100 x 70650
amyahn@yorku.ca
Mayoori Malankov
International Student Advisor and Immigration Specialist 
mayoori@yorku.ca
Samantha Yan
International Student Advisor & Immigration Specialist (on leave to Aug 2021)
(416) 736-2100 x 20455
samyan@yorku.ca
Christine Omuodo-Kouassi
International Student Program Facilitator
(416) 736-2100 x 70651
comuodo@yorku.ca
Kelly Chen
International Student Program Assistant
(416) 736-2100 x 77329
chkelly@yorku.ca
SumanpreetYI Sumanpreet Kaur
University Health Insurance Plan (UHIP) Administrator
(416) 736-2100 x 20040
skaur1@yorku.ca

International Partnerships and Programs

Helen Balderama
Associate Director, International Partnerships and Programs
(416) 736-2100 x 70326
helencb@yorku.ca
Beth Alaksa
Coordinator, International Mobility Programs
(416) 736-2100 x 77623
balaksa@yorku.ca

International Partnerships Officer (TBC)

 

 

Glenda Lowndes
Global Learning Assistant, Exchanges and Visiting Students
(416) 736-2100 x 20060
glowndes@yorku.ca
Hani El Masry
Global Learning Assistant, Exchanges and Visiting Students
(416) 736-2100 x 20518
haniem@yorku.ca
Marierose Talla
Go Global Projects Assistant
(416) 736-2100 x 30232
rtalla@yorku.ca
Natasha Pursun
International Internships Assistant
(416) 736-2100 x 40506
npursun@yorku.ca
Puja Variawa
Database Officer
(416) 736-2100 x 33032
pvariawa@yorku.ca

Finance and Administration

Sharon Sammy
Administrative Secretary
(416) 736-2100 x 44093
ssammy@yorku.ca
Yvonne Chiu
Student Support Assistant
(416) 736-5177
chiuyvo@yorku.ca
  Administrative Assistant (TBC)